2 Wheels of Fun

Mountain Biking, Road Cycling & Dirt Biking

Cinderella Classic

Well the ride has come and gone and I had an awesome time! We had a great ride and got to talk to a bunch of nice ladies. It was really amazing being out there with all those women riders!

Unfortunately the weather did not work out to our advantage. We got the next best thing to rain. Wind, and LOTS of it. I felt like I rode in a head wind for 75% of the ride.

I met the other trainees from the blue group in the line for registration. While we waited in line people walked up and down the line with trays of bagels and baked goods to tide us over while waiting to register. I really appreciated this as I forgot to eat breakfast before I left and didn’t get a chance to stop for anything on the way to the fair grounds.

We started out in Pleasanton CA at the Alameda County Fair Grounds and wound through neighborhoods in Pleasanton out to Vineyard Ave then to Robertson Park for our first stop. The stop was loaded with baked goods, candies, fruit, sandwiches, bagels, water and sports drinks. The people working at the water stop were really awesome and got folks in and out quickly. At this point we had about 14 miles to our lunch stop. We continued out Concannon out twords Patterson Pass rd. The wind got really strong out here and it was a hard battle thru the wind to our lunch stop at Christensen School. At the school hey had more sandwiches and baked goods so I filled up on a sandwich and lemonade and then got on my way. We wandered thru Livermore and back into Pleasanton to water stop number 3. We skipped stop number 3 and stopped at the Starbucks a few blocks later. It was nice to get out of the cold wind for awhile and fill up on a hot beverage. After this it was smooth sailing back to the fair grounds to the finish and the bike expo.

After I put up my bike I met back up with the ladies at the registration area for more sandwiches, goodies, hot soup and the expo. I shopped around for a few minutes then got in line for some hot soup. After a bit we all said our goodbyes and headed back to Fremont.

I had a great time and I can not wait to do the challenge course next year!

The AIDS LifeCycle is about 50 days away and I’m getting anxious about what the weather will be like and how the courses will be every day. I hope I can hang with all the riding we will be doing for 7 consecutive days.

FFBC Blue Bells

FFBC Blue Bells

April 22, 2010 - Posted by | Cinderella Classic | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

